Student and Alumni Accomplishments

Preparing Students for College

Seniors in the Community School go on to top music programs, Ivy League universities, and the best universities in the nation. 2023-24 graduates will attend:

  • Carnegie Mellon University
  • Colburn Conservatory of Music
  • Conservatorium van Amsterdam
  • Cornell University
  • Eastman School of Music
  • Harvard University
  • Johns Hopkins University
  • The Juilliard School
  • New England Conservatory
  • New York University
  • Oberlin College and Conservatory
  • Princeton University
  • The Royal Conservatory of Music
  • San Francisco Conservatory of Music
  • University of California Schools
  • University of Southern California
  • Yale University

Awards, Competitions, and Highlights

51st Annual Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition

The Fischoff Competition is the largest and longest-running chamber music competition in the nation. Community School chamber groups regularly appear at the competition. The Corda Quartet (pictured above)—Andres Engleman, violin, Sarah Yang, violin, Joshua Chae, viola and Irene Choung, cello—advanced to the quarter-finals in 2024.

Music Center’s 2024 Spotlight Awards

This scholarship and arts training program emphasizes preparation, courage, critical thinking, and perseverance for students. In 2024, Community School students were among the semi-finalists and grand prize finalists in the Spotlight Awards.

  • Holly Lacey, violin, was the Grand Prize Finalist in the Classical Instrumental category.  Jesse Hu, Vinay Sundar, and Kyle Yeung and Music Academy students Kailey Yun, Ruolin (Cindy) Jia, and Sophie Leung were honored as Semi-Finalists.
  • Jack Lieberman, alto saxophone, was the Grand Prize Finalist in the Contemporary Instrumental category. Charles French, Joaquin Garde, Jordan Klein, Taylor Lee, Ian Shin, Saoirse Sipes, Luciano Soriano, Kai Spatzier, and Nathan Tatsuta were honored as Semi-Finalists.
Downbeat Magazine’s 47th Annual Student Music Awards

The DownBeat Awards are considered the most prestigious awards in jazz education. In 2024, DownBeat recognized Community School jazz students, led by Lee Secard, Chair, Colburn Jazz Workshop, for the following accomplishments:

    • Jazz Soloist: Cosmo Liberman, Alto Saxophone (High School Honors Winner); Jack Lieberman, Tenor Saxophone (High School Honors Outstanding Performance)
    • Small Jazz Combo: Colburn Jazz Workshop Thursday Night Band (High School Honors Ensemble Winners), Colburn Jazz Workshop Monday Night Band (High School Honors Ensemble Outstanding Performances)
    • Original Composition – Small Ensemble: Nathan Tatsuta, “Zero G” (High School Honors Winner)
    • Original Composition – Large Ensemble: Luciano Soriano, “Off Little Consequence” (High School Honors Winner)
From the Top

America’s largest national platform celebrates young classically trained musicians through live events, NPR and video broadcasts, scholarships, and arts education programs. Community School bassoonist Zachary Piesner was featured on the March 25, 2024 episode of From The Top. Listen to his episode .

See a complete list of Colburn student accomplishments

2023-24 Accomplishments

Alumni Spotlight

In May, Anne Akiko Meyers was named one of the 2024 inductees to the Asian Hall of Fame. She will be honored at the 20th Induction Ceremony in Los Angeles in October.